NEClimbs.com forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Reading the forum on your cell phone? There's an easier way. We've enabled a Tapatalk app that makes browsing the forum a whole lot easier. Check it out in the iPhone or Android store if you don't own it already.

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: An open letter to the community re: impact  (Read 341 times)

Danhedonia

• NEClimbs Newbie
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
An open letter to the community re: impact
« on: January 14, 2003, 12:40:16 PM »

Hello.  This is an open letter to the neclimbs community.  I have posted it in slightly altered form in 2 other places.
I have been climbing for about five years now; I became interested through hiking and trekking.  I have had the privilege of seeing some remarkable and beautiful mountains.  My motivation for climbing is to bring me closer to these holy places.  Finding myself in an alpine setting gives me a powerful sense of peace as well as a deep and abiding joy.  

I know that people climb for many, many different reasons, and that what is true for me may not be true for others.  Personal challenge, teamwork, competitiveness, and the pleasure of pure physical effort are some of the reasons I know for climbing.  But we all have one thing in common: the places where we climb, whether the gym, a local toprope crag, or a route deep in the heart of some distant range of jagged peaks.

I am a very ardent supporter of the Leave No Trace ethos.  From the preservation of aesthetic beauty for others' enjoyment to the statement it makes about how we wish to approach our relationship with nature, I think that Leave No Trace provides a clear ideal that is both aesthetically appealing and also extremely practical.