NEClimbs.com forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Reading the forum on your cell phone? There's an easier way. We've enabled a Tapatalk app that makes browsing the forum a whole lot easier. Check it out in the iPhone or Android store if you don't own it already.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: new shoes !  (Read 194 times)

kevin

• NEClimbs Newbie
  • No matter where you go, there you are!" Buckaroo B
new shoes !
« on: January 27, 2003, 08:57:48 AM »

I,m ready to get new bots.  The Koflach,s I have been using for the last six years are big and heavy.  The Trango Ice,s and Nepal Extremes look to be more flexible in so far as heel hooking and the like.  I lead 3+ to 4 on a good day with plastic ice and plenty of coffee ( and the occasional wiz!) I don't plan to go the Artic so maybe a little less is suficient.  Any ideas?
kevin

dogboy

• NEClimbs Moderator
  • NEClimbs God
  • What?
Re: new shoes !
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2003, 01:32:09 PM »

I've been climbing in Scarpa Alphas for two seasons, and I love them.  They are plastic, but they are made on a leather boot last, have a low cuff, and are very flexible compared to  most other plastic boots.  They are designed specifically for water ice and mixed climbing, rather than mountaineering.  While not quite as warm as a true mountaineering boot, they are much warmer than Nepal Extremes, etc...which just don't keep me warm.  I know lots of people who climb in leather boots, and love them...but the Alphas are definitely a better choice for those with colder feet.
Everybody wants to go to heaven, but no one wants to die.

kevin

• NEClimbs Newbie
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2003, 02:11:58 PM »

dogboy, I was thinking in terms of the Alpha,s originally. I thought maybe the Nepals and Trango Ices would be lighter!  The big qualifier is WARMTH.  Also have found the Alpha,s on sale for Cheap.
kevin

Admin Al

• NEClimbs Administrator