General > Climbing Gear Q & A

M10's

(1/6) > >>

old_school:
Anyone out there a fan of the M10's by Charlet-Moser? I looked at them the other day and they looked pretty interesting. I am in the market for new crampons and was considering the Bionics, but have heard mixed reviews about them...particularly with them having a tendency to walk or slide out while dropping the heel a bit to settle into a resting position. ANy info would be great! Thanks.

Admin Al:
I've been using M10's for the past 2 years as my main crampon. they were set up as mono points, a little offset to be over the big toe. I really liked them. I just upgraded to the latest version about a week ago as an Xmas present to myself. they come set up as dual points & so far I have left them that way. I've climbed Pegasus, Smear, Unicorn and lots of laps at the North End with them. they are a little lighter than the original ones & have a different strap system.

they seem to climb just fine to me. I was quite surprised at how comfortable I feel with dual points again. I started climbing with mono points about 9 years ago on a pair of Grade 8's. I love the mono point thing but have noticed that some of the better climbers have now gone back to duals except on the harder mixed routes. I noticed that they were nice on a route like Unicorn where the ice is quite fluted and where with mono points I would have had a hard time getting points in.

--al

DLottmann:
I climb in M10 Mono-offset, and tried switching back to dual's last year.  For Frankenstein cragging I think mono's rock.  Pegasus Rock Finish, Hobbit, Penguin P2, Hanging Gardens, mono's have all come in use.  I feel more precise with the 1 point.  Actually, I think "mono" is a bit of a mis-nomer.  Since you should kick hard enough to get the secondary points engaged, dual point crampons are actually "quad" and mono's are "tri-point" if that doesn't confuse you.

old_school:
Thanks Al and DMAn,