NEClimbs.com forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Reading the forum on your cell phone? There's an easier way. We've enabled a Tapatalk app that makes browsing the forum a whole lot easier. Check it out in the iPhone or Android store if you don't own it already.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Climbing etiquette ?  (Read 210 times)

agoodnap

• NEClimbs Newbie
Climbing etiquette ?
« on: April 03, 2006, 12:10:10 AM »

OK, Newbie here... i spent the winter in an indoor gym, preparing to get outside this spring.  But now it's here and my buddies don't seem as excited.  Are ther spots around where it's ok to show up and ask people to let me climb with them?  Waiting for a friend to teach me to anchor so I would only have to find people to belay me, but for now I need it all?!  Any thoughts or advice?

meclimber

• NEClimbs God
  • Climb for your own reasons.
Re: Climbing etiquette ?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2006, 06:19:16 AM »

I think that showing up randomly at a cliff is fine.  Besides the fact that you'll always meet somebody It's a good way to get into a crowd that spends their time climbing outside.  This forum is also a great place to find partners, good luck.
Jon Howard

tradmanclimbz

• NEClimbs God
  • Nick Goldsmith
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2006, 09:04:34 AM »

Some areas that have a lot of top ropeing and collect crowds of climbers on weekends. Find a spot like this andhang out. boulder a bit and  hope a crowd gathers. If you see a group that looks like they are friendly and know what they are doing then ask if you can climb with them. be honest about your experience level. Also use the partners forum to try and find some reguler partners. Good luck.

M_Sprague

• NEClimbs God
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2006, 09:16:50 PM »