Author Topic: New to New England  (Read 199 times)

Offline epoch

• NEClimbs Full Member
  • jay a.
New to New England
« on: April 23, 2006, 03:52:36 PM »
Howdy all,
   I am a new resident to New England, particularilary to the lower Kennebec River valley in Maine. I know that there are not too many crags in my area, and I'm not looking for info on them at this time. My real question is about climbing in the White Mountains particularillary in the river valley where N. Conway is located. Living 2 hours away makes this a perfect area for day tripping and weekend get aways. Besides White Horse and Cathedral Ledges where are the good rock areas within the immediate area. I love trad and have climbed in many interesting places in the states and Asia and now that I am here in New England I would love to expierence all that there is to do out here. I'm looking at a winter ascent of Mt. Washington next season, with possibly a ski descent. Plenty of craggin and trad climbing. Where are the hot and not-so-hot spots around that area?

I know that there is a ton of climbing history to be found throughout the area, with the likes of Ed Webster, Henderson and Underhill, Fritz Weissner, and countless other names in climbing history out there, along with numerous skilled and dedicated professional climbing guides.

Cheers,
    Jay

Offline Admin Al

• NEClimbs Administrator
  • NEClimbs God
  • Climb 'till your forearms turn to jelly!
    • NEClimbs
Re: New to New England
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2006, 04:28:14 PM »
welcome to the area. 2 hours to N Conway ain't too bad. you can certianly do day trips and/or weekends. I did it for a long time before I finally moved up from Boston.