NEClimbs.com forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Reading the forum on your cell phone? There's an easier way. We've enabled a Tapatalk app that makes browsing the forum a whole lot easier. Check it out in the iPhone or Android store if you don't own it already.

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Question for experienced Rumney route developers  (Read 758 times)

Derek Doucet

• NEClimbs Junior Member
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Question for experienced Rumney route developers
« on: June 01, 2007, 09:52:22 AM »

Hello-

A question for all of you active Rumney route developers. First, to avoid flaming, a bit about me and the routes we develope. I've been climbing for over 15 years, and developing new routes for about 8. I've equipped several dozen sport or mixed gear and bolts routes, all on schist similar to the rock at Rumney. I know how to bolt responsibly.  The routes we've developed see nowhere near the traffic level as those at Rumney, and so we've tended to not bother with glue-ins. They seem like overkill for these routes, but perhaps we need to reconsider. Now to my questions:

1. Given that the routes in question might see 75 ascents in a very busy season, do you feel glue-ins are necessary? Remember, the rock in question is pretty similar to Rumney's schist. For reference, a 10mm hole takes on average perhaps a minute to drill 6" deep (unless you hit a quartz crystal...) with an Annilhator and decent bit in this stone.

2. If you were not going to use glue-ins, what mechanicals have you found to work well in schist? We've tried a bunch, but I'd like opinions from folks with experience bolting in schist specifically, or medium to medium-soft rock in general.

Thanks in advance...

-Derek

Derek Doucet

• NEClimbs Junior Member
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Re: Question for experienced Rumney route developers
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2007, 03:18:19 PM »

Bump....