Author Topic: Ice Bouldering  (Read 3685 times)

RhodeIslandJeff

Ice Bouldering
« on: January 16, 2009, 10:49:15 AM »
I'm pretty new to Ice climbing and my main motivation is more alpine but obviously RI has no alpine. Being pretty bummed about not being able to head north the last couple weeks got me thinking. I mostly boulder because thats mostly what I have where I live. Keeps me in shape and helps me improve. The recent cold spell has brought in some short waterfall ice spots around Westerly. Not really top rope material. So to make the best of my circumstances I'm giving ice bouldering a shot this winter.

Anyone else ever tool around on the short stuff? Any advice?

No size reference but I'm guessing 15-17 feet.

« Last Edit: April 18, 2009, 07:11:09 PM by RhodeIslandJeff »

Offline JBro

• NEClimbs God
  • Doing God's work
Re: Ice Bouldering
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2009, 11:27:55 AM »
I used to ice boulder at a railroad cut in I think Londenderry, NH (idk maybe it was Salem). It was pretty sweet, about 10' to 12' tall minumum with a max 18' pillar and about 100' across. I would just get up on it and stay off the ground as long as I could and practice placing scews, etc. It helped my climbing a ton.

Just be careful about pushing your limits because you don't have to fall far to break an ankle if you land wrong with crampons on. I looked at it more as endurance and confidence building training.
Have a quiche, now, or maybe a tort.  You deserve it!
-bristolpipe

I like to keep things simple, even if it's faaaken painful and miserable.
-Stoney Middleton

This is grain, which any fool can eat, but for which the Lord intended a more divine means of consumption.
-Friar Tuck

Offline Admin Al

• NEClimbs Administrator
  • NEClimbs God
  • Climb 'till your forearms turn to jelly!
    • NEClimbs
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2009, 12:04:39 PM »