Author Topic: Gearing up  (Read 752 times)

Offline DCSwish23

• NEClimbs Newbie
Gearing up
« on: July 05, 2010, 04:57:44 PM »
I've been climbing for several years doing mostly sport and whatever people will take me up due to my lack of money.  It's time for me to finally buy trad gear and I have several questions.

I do mostly sport right now due to lack of gear, but want to do trad and big wall.  For location...everywhere.  I live on the east coast, I'm taking an XC trip, and I have no clue where I'll be in a year.  I do some ice climbing too.

1.  Nuts nuts nuts, I need nuts...so which ones should I buy or does it matter?  BD is the most common I've encountered, but are they the best? Should I go for the best or is it all about the same and I should go for whatever is a deal?

2. Cams.  Brand?  I've used BD and really like them, not a fan of the metolius cams (except master) because I feel like I'll drop them when I place them.

3. I have the basics (rope, draws, webbing, cordelette) is there anything else that I should get?

4. I'm considering getting a new rope too (esp if #5 comes through), what's your rec & why?

5. Looks like I'll be spending hundreds of dollars on gear all at once, is there anywhere I can get a discount on it?

Offline llamero

• NEClimbs Full Member
Re: Gearing up
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2010, 09:28:15 PM »
I haven't been climbing all that long myself, but that also means I've recently purchased my own rack.  The best advice I could give would be to climb with various partners and try out their rack and try out all the different types of pro.  From there, you'll have a better idea of what's out there, and how they work (or don't work) in the real world.