NEClimbs.com forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Reading the forum on your cell phone? There's an easier way. We've enabled a Tapatalk app that makes browsing the forum a whole lot easier. Check it out in the iPhone or Android store if you don't own it already.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Learn to climb ice  (Read 149 times)

The Gillian

Learn to climb ice
« on: January 03, 2002, 12:16:04 AM »

Hey all a rock climber here who is interested in learning how to climb some ice.  I've been climbing stone since 1998. I Chased the sports grades a while, and then in 2000 stopped clipping bolts and started trad.  My experinces on different types of stone is limited as I've only climbed at NC's Boone (sandstone), WV's NRG (sandstone), Co. Boulder (granite), and WY. Lander (limestone).  

Anyways, I've wanted to try ice climbing for a long time, and eventually I'd like to get into some serious alpine mountaineering.  My goal is to be an all round good climber.  I may never make the 5.13 grade on stone or boulder V12's, or Climb the hardest aid or ice routes, but I want to at least have tangled with and experienced each form of climbing.  

Anyways I'm seeking some information about how I can learn to climb ice, or get into some high altitude alpine climbing.  Only places I know to learn to ice climb is at the ice climbing festivals in Colorado, and some festival sponsored by the IMCS in Febuary at New Hampshire somewhere I think.  

I was also wonderin how you ice freaks find peeps, train, stay warm on the ice, and what gear should I buy (I want to buy right the first time, cuz Ice gear iz expensive).

Any information about this seemingly brutal but interesting next lvl of climbing would be appreciated.  Thanks for your time.

The Gillian

dogboy

• NEClimbs God
  • What?
Re: Learn to climb ice
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2002, 07:46:20 AM »