Author Topic: dustbins  (Read 279 times)

Offline Whitey

• NEClimbs Newbie
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
dustbins
« on: February 02, 2016, 09:36:20 PM »
What's up with the old rule about chalkball only in climbing gyms? I see chalk spilled commonly that is not from a chalkball in some places in southern N.E. I've been climbing indoors for 15-20 years now and try to ignore how much long term lung damage could occur. There are some white powders( I've only heard about of course) that are able to cause lung damage. I'll deal with any and all replies on this with good humor as I know how internet spray goes these days. It hits home when the sun beams through and you see all the dust particles in the air.

Offline Nemesis

• NEClimbs Full Member
Re: dustbins
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2016, 09:50:31 PM »
I just pulled MSDS for Calcium Carbonate and Magnesium Carbonate.  It recommends wearing a respirator in the presence of airborne dust.  YMMV

I've always wanted to sound like Darth Vader anyhow
« Last Edit: February 02, 2016, 09:54:18 PM by Nemesis »

Offline pappy

• NEClimbs Senior Member
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2016, 11:34:50 PM »
I just pulled MSDS for Calcium Carbonate and Magnesium Carbonate.  It recommends wearing a respirator in the presence of airborne dust.  YMMV

I've always wanted to sound like Darth Vader anyhow

Which is about the lowest level of concern there is--if you look at SDSs (MSDS now being obsolete) every substance on the planet will kill you. Gyms, and especially gym belayers, being several of orders of magnitude more dangerous.
If you're gonna be stupid, you gotta be tough.

Offline eyebolter

• NEClimbs God
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2016, 06:27:14 AM »

I try to climb outside as much as possible, even in winter, though that doesn't work for Mrs. Eyebolter.