Author Topic: $3-$5 for Forest passes  (Read 3261 times)

Offline frik

• NEClimbs God
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Re: $3-$5 for Forest passes
« Reply #30 on: August 12, 2016, 10:00:32 am »
I really really hate the fee, and go out of my way to try to not ever pay it. But I'm not sure why you think it's illegal. Anyone can walk into any designated fee area without having to pay.... so we can still enter "our" land without paying. We're only required to pay, if we are parking a car....so if the FS re-named it to "parking fee" would that make it "legal"?

I'm not a lawyer, but my dad used to watch Perry Mason... so I'm as qualified as anyone else to ask this: Has there been a recent* case; in which someone refused to pay the ticket (for not paying the fee), they went to court, and the  judge dismissed the case?  I'm really curious to know, because the free legal advice you are dispensing can become pretty expensive if the answer is crickets.

* I'm pretty sure, when the fee was initially implemented, the wording on the pass implied that paying the fee was voluntary -and a case was dismissed because of that. However that was a while ago and the wording has long since been changed.

Offline kenreville

• NEClimbs God
« Reply #31 on: August 12, 2016, 10:58:30 am »
What I'm telling you is that by NOT parking in any signed area, you can LEGALLY park along any road in the WMNF (as long as there is no sign prohibiting the spot you want to park in). As long as your wheels are off the pavement.

That said, doesn't it seem highly suspect that your $20 "fee" is being used to hire gov't parking attendants? And why is any roadside "legal" to park in, but certain parking lots are not?

Offline pappy

• NEClimbs God
« Reply #32 on: August 12, 2016, 12:06:30 pm »